Section and Member Awards

This page recognizes awards the Charlotte-Metrolina Section has received and has given to individuals and honors our members have received.

Society Awards

Society Awards received by the Section:

FY11: Membership Retention – Small Section
FY10: Society Communications – Professional Web Site Award – Small Section 3rd Place
FY09: Outreach – Girl Scout Program – Small Section
FY08: Society Outreach Event/Series Program – Small Section
FY08: Society Professional Development Program – Small Section
FY08: Society Strategic Communications – Professional Web Site – 2nd Place

Region Awards

Regional Awards received by the Section:

FY12: Membership Retention
FY12: Outreach MOU
FY11: Best Professional Development Program/Event
FY11: Membership Recruitment
FY11: Membership Retention
FY10: Outreach Event/Series
FY10: Best Professional Newsletter
FY09: Best Professional Development Event
FY09: Best Professional Development Program
FY08: Best Professional Newsletter
FY07: Professional Membership Retention

Distinguished Engineering Service Award

The DESA was established in FY07 by the Charlotte-Metrolina Section to recognize an individual who best exemplifies the engineering profession through leadership and service. Recipients are recognized at our Annual Awards & Recognition Banquet and receive a plaque and honorary SWE dues the following fiscal year.


2017: None
2016: Susan Habina-Woolard, P.E., City of Charlotte, PENC
2015: Eric Simpson, NSBE
2014: None
2013: Clarence Lyons, EPRI, NSBE

2012: Meredith Allen, AREVA
2011: Dr. Cindy Moss, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
2010: Tom Bach, P.E., Water and Sewer Authority of Cabarras County, PENC
2009: Angela Berry, P.E., Charlotte DOT, SWE
2008: Tiffani Teachey, EPRI, NSBE
2007: Machella Litaker, AREVA

Service to SWE Award

The Service to SWE was established in FY08 by the Charlotte-Metrolina Section to allow our Section President to recognize a deserving member who goes above and beyond their call of duty as a Section member or officer. Recipients are recognized at our Annual Awards & Recognition Banquet and receive a plaque and gift.


2017: None
2016: None
2015: None
2014: None
2013: Angela Berry – Outreach Committee Chair
2012: Chris Cathcart – Previous Section President
2011: Angela Berry – Section Vice President
2010: Susan Schlett – Section Membership Chair and Nominating & Teller Committee Chair
2009: Sandra Kolvick – Section Vice President
2008: Kerrie Goforth – Section Representative, Secretary, and Website Coordinator

Member Honors & Awards

Some of our members have received individual awards or honors:

2011: Sandra Kolvick, New Faces of Engineering, SWE
2010: Angela Berry, Honor Pin, Girls Scouts of America – Hornets’ Nest Council
2008: Christine Cathcart, SWE Fellow
2008: Jennifer Braganza, Distinguished New Engineer, SWE
2007: Dr. Helene Hilger, Bank of America Award for Teaching Excellence


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)